Smarties Halaal/Haraam

Here is a letter I got back from Nestle with respect to suitability of Smarties

Thank you very much for your email.

In answer to your enquiry, Smarties are not on the Muslim list because they are not suitable for a muslim diet. The foods on the list you have received are foods that are suitable for you to consume. The Smarties in the McFlurrys are standard Smarties and none of them are suitable for Muslims or vegetarians. If a product is not listed on the information provided, then it is not suitable for you to consume.

We no longer use riboflavin, carminic acid, copper complexes of chlorophyllins, vegetable carbon or mixed carotenes in the classic and mini Smarties. In the new Smarties we are making use of ‘colouring foodstuffs’. These are ingredients which may impart colour when added to a food product and are typically concentrates of fruits or vegetables, but may also be cereals, spices or other foods. Importantly, they retain the essential characteristics of the food they originate from.

The specific ‘colouring foodstuffs’ used in Smarties are:

  • > Black carrot (Daucus carota L.)
  • > Hibiscus (fruit of Hibiscus sabdariffa)
  • > Lemon
  • > Radish (Raphanus sativus)
  • > Red cabbage (Brassica oleracea var. capitata rubra)
  • > Safflower (flowers of Carthamus tinctorius L.)
  • > Spirulina (Arthrospira).

In respect of the vegetarian status of Smarties, the milk chocolate contains whey powder. Whey is manufactured from milk using either animal rennet or vegetarian rennet. Smarties contain animal rennet.

Thank you again for taking the trouble to contact us. We are grateful for the interest you have shown in our company.

Continue reading “Smarties Halaal/Haraam”